Harry Potter and the Adult Reader

Caitlin's picture

Less than a month ago, the release of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child—the stage script written by Jack Thorne and based on an original story by J.K. Rowling—reignited the passions of Harry Potter readers across the globe. While some readers have enjoyed visiting the future of their favorite characters, others have been disappointed with out-of-character portrayals and certain plot devices.

Whether you’re a reader who enjoyed Harry Potter and the Cursed Child or one who found it disappointing, if you’re hungry for more adult magical experiences, you’ll enjoy these tales of orphan wizards, secret worlds, dark and light magic, and fantastic quests. 

"The Hobbit" by J.R.R. Tolkien

Vita's picture

This is the story of a reluctant adventurer who battles enormous forces. Bilbo Baggins, the protagonist, likes his creature comforts and is unsure as he sets out on an incredible journey to complete an important task. In order to succeed he needs to learn how to get along with others and stand up for what he believes in. It is an inspiring tale of adventure, fellowship, uncertainty, and strength.

Wildalone, by Krassi Zourkova

Caitlin's picture

Thea Slavin is a teenage Bulgarian piano prodigy. Following in her older sister’s footsteps, she wins a scholarship to Princeton University, where she intends to discover the truth about her sister's death—and the disappearance of her body—fifteen years ago. Her musical talent and her sister’s legacy soon draw her into romantic entanglements with two brothers: the enigmatic Jake and the passionate Rhys. But there’s more to both brothers—and to her sister’s death—than Thea first understands, and discovering the truth will challenge her understanding of life, death, and love. Greek mythology supplies the elements of fantasy in this novel of dark romance, making it perfect for fans of Deborah Harkness and Stephanie Meyer.

Half-Resurrection Blues, by Daniel José Older

Caitlin's picture

Carlos Delacruz is an agent of New York City’s Council of the Dead, charged with protecting the living and maintaining order among New York’s ghosts. He’s also an Inbetweener: after dying and coming back to life, Carlos gained the ability to see and speak with ghosts—and lost all memory of his past. He believes he’s the only Inbetweener in New York until the Council of the Dead orders him to hunt down a rogue sorcerer who turns out to be an Inbetweener, too. Soon, Carlos is untangling the threads of a conspiracy that threatens to bring down the walls between the dead and the living for good—and whose mastermind might be the man responsible for Carlos’s almost-death.

While the plot occasionally meanders, veteran short-story writer Older’s voice crackles with profane and hilarious life in his debut novel. A must-read for fans of urban fantasy.

City of Stairs, by Robert Jackson Bennett

Caitlin's picture

Shara Divani is a spy with a job: find out who killed her protégé, Professor Efram Pangyui, and why. Her suspect pool encompasses the entire city of Bulikov, once the heart of a vast empire guarded by six omnipotent gods, and now a defeated and occupied city seething with resentful citizens and endless plots. With only a week before she’s recalled, Divani must rely on her terrifying “secretary” Sigurd and a cast of colorful supporting characters in order to discover the truth about what happened to Pangyui—and whether the gods of Bulikov are quite as dead as they seem.

Vividly imagined and skillfully executed, City of Stairs will appeal to readers of Tom Rob Smith and N.K. Jemisin alike.

Out of the Silent Planet

Kalyn's picture

Dr. Ransom is a professor on a solitary walking tour of the English countryside, searching for a place to lay his head for the night. Instead, he finds himself drugged, forced onto a space ship and thrust into a cosmic journey with eternal implications.

Ransom’s two captors, each with his own malicious motives, transport him to the planet Malacandra, planning to offer him as a human sacrifice to the planet’s ruler. However, as Ransom escapes and begins to explore Malacandra on his own, he discovers that its creatures are not quite what he or the other humans had imagined. In fact, this world’s beings and their story might illuminate the story of the universe, as well as the dangers facing Ransom’s home planet, earth.

This book is excellent in its own right, and is just the first in C.S. Lewis’ Space trilogy.  If you love to read about other fictional worlds or that we are part of a much bigger story, this book might just be the summer read you’ve been looking for. 

Strange Country by Deborah Coates

Caitlin's picture

As Strange Country opens, Army veteran Hallie Michaels finds herself dealing with the consequences of her actions over the last few months. Among those consequences are an inherited ranch with an unusual fence system, a deadly Unmaker set loose in the aftermath of Hallie’s journey into the Underworld, and a new wariness in her relationship with Boyd Davies, the sheriff’s deputy who has prophetic dreams of the future. Boyd, meanwhile, has problems of his own—namely, a murderous sniper targeting people under his protection. When Boyd and Hallie discover the sniper may be after a set of mysterious stones capable of massive destruction, they must uncover the killer’s identity—before they end up in the crosshairs themselves.

With Strange Country, author Deborah Coates returns to the harsh, supernatural South Dakota landscape that she first explored in Wide Open (2012) and Deep Down (2013). Atmospheric and thoughtful, Strange Country has the restrained language and lonely landscapes of Cormac McCarthy combined with the unexpected magic of urban fantasy. If you enjoy western settings, a touch of magic, and complex female characters, check out a print copy or download the ebook today!

Carter & Lovecraft, by Jonathan Howard

Caitlin's picture

After a disturbing encounter with a serial killer, police detective Daniel Carter is ready for the (relatively) quiet life of a private investigator. When he unexpectedly inherits a bookstore from a relative he’s never heard of, though, he finds himself in the middle of an investigation that gets stranger by the minute. People dying in impossible ways, a disturbing community of dead-eyed men and terrifying women, and a rift in reality that a madman calls The Twist … if Carter can’t find some answers soon, it may be the end of the world we know, and the beginning of something horrifying.


Subscribe to fantasy