fantasy

New Year, New Who?

Caitlin's picture

For many people, the end of the year is a time to take stock, reflect on the challenges and accomplishments of the last twelve months, and make plans for the future. But what kind of future can you plan if you can’t remember your past and your present is full of people who want to kill you?

The Bourne Identity, Robert Ludlum: Jason Bourne is fished out of the sea with a head wound and no memory of his past. His talent for violence suggests that he’s been a very bad man—as do the assassins pursuing him across Europe. With the clock ticking, he must discover what his enemies want from him and answer the question: Who is Jason Bourne?

The Rook, Daniel O'Malley: Myfanwy (pronounced like Tiffany) Thomas wakes up in a London park surrounded by bodies—and with no memory of who she is or how she got there. Following the instructions she left for herself before her memories disappeared, she discovers that she’s a high-ranking member of a mysterious supernatural organization called The Chequy—and one of her colleagues wants her dead.

Fledgling, Octavia Butler: Shori is badly burned and nearly dead, with no memory of how or why she was injured, when she awakens in a cave. After killing and eating a large animal with her bare hands, she makes an unnaturally speedy recovery. Is she human? Or something more? With the help of a stranger she meets on the road, Shori discovers what she is, why she woke up alone—and why she may be the last hope of her species.

Clover's Luck by Kallie George

Clover's Luck is the first book in The Magical Animal Adoption Agency series.  Clover has always considered herself unlucky and especially with pets.  Her most recent one, a pet bird, flies off into the forest and when she goes chasing after her Clover stumbles upon a flyer advertising a job at an animal adoption agency.  When Clover goes to ask about the job she is hired on the spot and soon learns the secret of M.A.A.A.; it's full of magical animals.  Fairy horses, magic toads, witch kittens, unicorns, and even a baby dragon are among the animals available to adopt. Just as Clover is feeling her luck might be changing she gets left in charge of the agency and a sneaky witch shows up causing all sorts of trouble.  Can Clover overcome her bad luck and help the animals find good homes?   (Grades 2-4 School Library Journal)

Celebrate Speculative Fiction!

Caitlin's picture

In February, libraries, classrooms, and communities across the country celebrate Black histories. But what about Black futures? Celebrate the imagination of award-winning Black speculative fiction authors with exciting reads, from first contact with aliens to post-apocalyptic adventures!

Juvenile Fiction Selection: The Ogre of Oglefort by Eva Ibbotson

Ivo the orphan, together with the Hag of Dribble, Ulf the Troll, and Brian the Wizard, sets out to save Princess Mirella from the dreaded Ogre of Oglefort. When the rescuers arrive at the castle they are shocked to find that the princess doesn't want to be saved!  In fact, the princess wants the ogre to turn her into a bird so she can escape an arranged marriage. To further complicate matters the Ogre isn't nearly the fearsome creature everyone believed.  He's actually rather depressed. Now the rescuers are going to help save Princess Mirella from her tyrannical royal family and help restore the Ogre and his castle to the fearsome paradise it used to be.  If you're looking for a fun fantasy story with a good sense of humor you will want to pick this book up! (Grades 4-7)

Out of This World Nebula Awards

Hari's picture

Started in 1965 by the Science Fiction Writers of America, which became the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, Inc., the Nebula Awards are voted on and presented annually by active members. Membership began with 78 writers and has grown to more than 1,500. Awards are given for the best novel, novella, novelette, and short story eligible for that year’s award, with Best Script added in 2000. Nominees for the 2015 novel award, which will be presented the second week in May at the annual awards banquet in Chicago, are shown below. In addition to the nominees, previous Nebula Award winners in the novel category are available for checkout.

"The Hobbit" by J.R.R. Tolkien

Vita's picture

This is the story of a reluctant adventurer who battles enormous forces. Bilbo Baggins, the protagonist, likes his creature comforts and is unsure as he sets out on an incredible journey to complete an important task. In order to succeed he needs to learn how to get along with others and stand up for what he believes in. It is an inspiring tale of adventure, fellowship, uncertainty, and strength.

Wildalone, by Krassi Zourkova

Caitlin's picture

Thea Slavin is a teenage Bulgarian piano prodigy. Following in her older sister’s footsteps, she wins a scholarship to Princeton University, where she intends to discover the truth about her sister's death—and the disappearance of her body—fifteen years ago. Her musical talent and her sister’s legacy soon draw her into romantic entanglements with two brothers: the enigmatic Jake and the passionate Rhys. But there’s more to both brothers—and to her sister’s death—than Thea first understands, and discovering the truth will challenge her understanding of life, death, and love. Greek mythology supplies the elements of fantasy in this novel of dark romance, making it perfect for fans of Deborah Harkness and Stephanie Meyer.

Pages

Subscribe to fantasy