Book

Wildalone, by Krassi Zourkova

Caitlin's picture

Thea Slavin is a teenage Bulgarian piano prodigy. Following in her older sister’s footsteps, she wins a scholarship to Princeton University, where she intends to discover the truth about her sister's death—and the disappearance of her body—fifteen years ago. Her musical talent and her sister’s legacy soon draw her into romantic entanglements with two brothers: the enigmatic Jake and the passionate Rhys. But there’s more to both brothers—and to her sister’s death—than Thea first understands, and discovering the truth will challenge her understanding of life, death, and love. Greek mythology supplies the elements of fantasy in this novel of dark romance, making it perfect for fans of Deborah Harkness and Stephanie Meyer.

The Conversation: A Revolutionary Plan for End-of-Life Care by Angelo Volandes, M.D.

Hari's picture

The subject of our mortality is painful for many Americans to consider let alone discuss with others. As a result, many of us put off having a conversation with our loved ones and doctors about our end-of-life care wishes. Often, this results in second-guessing, anguish, and guilt. To highlight the need for each of us to plan for end-of-life care, the author explores the end-of-life experiences of seven seriously-ill hospital patients, ranging from palliative care to intense intervention. Dr. Volandes provides information about the latest free online video resources to aid readers in having “The Conversation” about preferences ahead of time with loved ones and doctors.

Written with insight and compassion, this book is a quick, must-read for anybody who does not have end-of-life care plans in place.  

Britt-Marie Was Here, by Fredrik Backman

Caitlin's picture

Meet Britt-Marie, a Scandinavian housewife whose tolerance of her husband’s philandering has finally ended. In need of a job and a place to live, she badgers a bewildered employment office worker into finding her work as the caretaker of a soon-to-be-closed recreation center in tiny, economically depressed Borg. Her neighbors include an enterprising teen whose business ventures are never completely legal; a vision-impaired ex-soccer star who “accidentally” hits people she doesn’t like with her cane; a shy policeman with a crush; a rat that likes Snickers; and a youth soccer team in desperate need of a coach. As Britt-Marie is drawn into their passions, dreams, and schemes, she begins to consider what she wants out of her own life, and both she and the town of Borg find something they thought they’d lost forever: hope.

Juvenile Fiction Selection: Audrey (cow)

Audrey is a Charolais cow living a happy and poetic life on Bittersweet farm, that is until the day they take her mother away. Confronted with her new reality, Audrey, with the help of many farm friends, devises an escape plan to avoid her “food cow” fate. Inspired by the true story of Charlene Mookin–aka “Cincinnati Freedom”–this story is a fun adventure for animals lovers of all ages.  

Juvenile Fiction Selection: The Chicken Squad:The First Misadventure by Doreen Cronin

Those funny chicks from The Trouble with Chickens are back in a series all their own. Dirt, Sugar, Poppy, and Sweetie are not your typical chicks. They might be cute, but they are also daring and always ready to solve a mystery or fight crime. When a very scared squirrel named Tail comes to tell them about the “big and scary thing” that has landed in the backyard, the chicken squad is on the case. With the use of some strange camouflage and deductive reasoning the chicks investigate the big, green, round, and shiny object that just might be from out of this world. Beginner chapter book readers will enjoy these hilarious chicks and the wonderful illustrations that capture all the silliness this story has to offer. (Grades 1-3 School Library Journal)

Picture Book Selection: Brimsby's Hats

Brimsby the hat maker loves two things: Making hats and afternoon tea with his friend. But, when his friend leaves to find adventure, Brimsby is all alone. Through his quest for friendship, and a unique ability to transform his beloved hats into something new and special, he finds both his own adventure and new and unexpected friendships. (Recommended ages 4yrs - 8yrs)

Pages

Subscribe to Book