Book

True Tales to be Told: Rockin' the Boat: 50 Iconic Rebels and Revolutionaries

We love to root for the underdog, and that is part of why we're drawn to the stories of revolutionaries. Whether they fail or succeed, people who can rally others to their cause and shake up the status quo tend to be inherently interesting. Rockin' the Boat tells the stories of 50 such legends throughout the world, from people fed up with the Roman Empire, to the revolutionaries who helped create America.

Picture Book Selection: Good Morning Yoga

This book weaves gentle exercises with a heartwarming narrative and wonderful illustrations to empower children to manage the energies from the fiery volcano to the mountain quiet and still. By teaching to self-monitor, self-sooth, focus and relax, children are given the skills to jumpstart the day with energy and excitement and meet the adventures that come with mindfulness and perspective. Ages 0-8.
  

Parent's Book Selection: a picture book by Jane Smiley

Jane Smiley, author of award winning books for adults, including her novel A Thousand Acres which won the Pulitzer Prize for Fiction in 1992, has just written a children's book called Twenty Yawns. This is a beautifully written bedtime story about a family's fun day at the beach and the quietude of a moonlit night. Read this book with your child and enjoy the lyrical text and see if you can find all twenty yawns sprinkled throughout the story.  

Nonfiction Selection: Rebel in a Dress – Adventurers

For the rebel in every girl's heart, this book presents the achievements of extraordinary, relevant, and inspiring women throughout history. Through a scrapbook-like style using quotes, narratives, photographs, illustrations, and fact-filled side-bars, this book tells the story of twelve bold and courageous women who, when the world told them to stay put, took to the skies, slopes, and seas. (Ages: 4th-7th)

Picture Book Selection: Plants Can't Sit Still

Do plants really move? Absolutely! You might be surprised by all the ways plants can move. Discover the many ways plants (and their seeds) move. Whether it's a sunflower, a Venus flytrap, or an exotic plant like an exploding cucumber, this fascinating picture book shows just how excitingly active plants really can be. Recommended for Grades K-2.

"The Twelve Tribes of Hattie" by Ayana Mathis

Vita's picture

This novel by a debut author is written in a thoughtful and very approachable style. The story is told through a series of vignettes focusing on Hattie and her eleven children and one of her grandchildren. While it is a relatively quick and easy read, it packs a big punch as the author weaves you through the years and the lives of Hattie's family. The novel is extremely compelling and I would highly recommend it to anybody who enjoys Toni Morrison, Zora Neale Hurston, Gloria Naylor or Sandra Cisneros.

City of Stairs, by Robert Jackson Bennett

Caitlin's picture

Shara Divani is a spy with a job: find out who killed her protégé, Professor Efram Pangyui, and why. Her suspect pool encompasses the entire city of Bulikov, once the heart of a vast empire guarded by six omnipotent gods, and now a defeated and occupied city seething with resentful citizens and endless plots. With only a week before she’s recalled, Divani must rely on her terrifying “secretary” Sigurd and a cast of colorful supporting characters in order to discover the truth about what happened to Pangyui—and whether the gods of Bulikov are quite as dead as they seem.

Vividly imagined and skillfully executed, City of Stairs will appeal to readers of Tom Rob Smith and N.K. Jemisin alike.

Pages

Subscribe to Book