Book

Adventure Novels for Teens: Vengeance Road

When her father is murdered for a journal revealing the location of a hidden gold mine, Kate disguises herself as a boy and takes to the gritty plains looking for answers and justice. What she finds are untrustworthy strangers, endless dust and heat, and a surprising band of allies. As Kate gets closer to the secrets about her family, a startling truth becomes clear; some men will stop at nothing to get their hands on gold, and Kate's quest for revenge may prove fatal.

Young Adult Selection: Rebel, Bully, Geek, Pariah

Meet The Rebel: Andi, The Bully: York, The Geek: Boston, and The Pariah: Sam.  These four high school students have nothing in common until they find themselves hiding in the woods together after a party gets busted by the cops.  Their getaway car turns out to have a trunk full of stolen drugs.  Now what should they do?  These four teens find out more about themselves in a few hours than they ever knew in all the years they attended school together.

Juvenile Nonfiction Selection: Presidential Pets

A look at the Presidents of the United States through the pets that accompanied them to the White House. A lyrical, often humorous poem describes the pets as each is brought to life by a cartoon style picture. Includes interesting presidential facts, accomplishments, and events. Would make a great read-a-loud as the pictures, poems, and facts make it fun and accessible for a range of ages.(Ages: 2nd - 5th)

Parent Recommendation: Cook me a story

This clever cookbook incorporates simple recipes and classic fairy tales with a culinary twist. In each recipe, the ingredients are listed and then a fairytale story begins. Interspersed between paragraphs are simple and clear cooking instructions. By the end of each story, children will have made a tasty treat.  Jack and the Green Beanstalk and Three Chili Goats Puff are just two of the fairytale story/recipes. This book combines storytelling and cooking and will be a fun activity for parent and child!  Recommended for PreS-Gr 4

"The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Frye" by Rachel Joyce

Vita's picture

Harold Fyre is retired, henpecked, and indifferent to life.  Then he receives a letter from a elderly friend who is dying.  Rather than mail her correspondence Harold decides to walk 600 miles to deliver his message in person.  His trek is peppered with fascinating characters who help unlock Harold's buried spirit and renew his sense of life. 

The Diving Bell and the Butterfly: A Memoir of Life in Death by Jean-Dominique Bauby, Jeremy Leggatt

Vita's picture

This extraordinary novel was written by Jean-Dominique Bauby, who suffered a stroke leaving him with only movement in his left eye. His writing is poetic and quite wonderful, laced with humor and wit. His imagination was compared to the flight of a butterfly, at the same time feeling his body was a Diving Bell.

Wildalone, by Krassi Zourkova

Caitlin's picture

Thea Slavin is a teenage Bulgarian piano prodigy. Following in her older sister’s footsteps, she wins a scholarship to Princeton University, where she intends to discover the truth about her sister's death—and the disappearance of her body—fifteen years ago. Her musical talent and her sister’s legacy soon draw her into romantic entanglements with two brothers: the enigmatic Jake and the passionate Rhys. But there’s more to both brothers—and to her sister’s death—than Thea first understands, and discovering the truth will challenge her understanding of life, death, and love. Greek mythology supplies the elements of fantasy in this novel of dark romance, making it perfect for fans of Deborah Harkness and Stephanie Meyer.

The Conversation: A Revolutionary Plan for End-of-Life Care by Angelo Volandes, M.D.

Hari's picture

The subject of our mortality is painful for many Americans to consider let alone discuss with others. As a result, many of us put off having a conversation with our loved ones and doctors about our end-of-life care wishes. Often, this results in second-guessing, anguish, and guilt. To highlight the need for each of us to plan for end-of-life care, the author explores the end-of-life experiences of seven seriously-ill hospital patients, ranging from palliative care to intense intervention. Dr. Volandes provides information about the latest free online video resources to aid readers in having “The Conversation” about preferences ahead of time with loved ones and doctors.

Written with insight and compassion, this book is a quick, must-read for anybody who does not have end-of-life care plans in place.  

Pages

Subscribe to Book