Youth Fitness and Health

Blekko Slashtag



 

Guide Topic

This guide provides a collection of supporting resources for patrons interested in the development of nutrition knowledge and fitness skills for children. Please keep in mind that while this pathfinder is designed to help you find authoritative information about fitness and health it is always best to use good assessment methods when finding information on the internet.  See the MedLine Plus Guide to Healthy Web Surfing for useful tips on evaluating web sources. 

 

 

Search Starters

Print 

Beat Sugar Addiction Now! for Kids!: The Cutting- Edge Program That Gets Your Kids Off Sugar Safely, Easily and Without Fights and Drama by Jacob Teitelbaum

Eat This, Not That! for Kids!: Thousands of Simple Food Swaps That Can Save Your Child from Obesity! by David Zinczenko

Fearless Feeding: How to Raise Healthy Eaters from High Chair to High School by Jill Castle and Mary Jocobsen

Fit Kids: A Practical Guide to Raising Active and Healthy Children - from Birth to Teen by Mary l. Gavin

Healthy Choices, Healthy Children: A Guide to Raising Fit, Happy Kids by Lori Brizee

Red Light, Green Light, Eat Right: The Food Solution That Lets Kids Be Kids by Joanna Dolgoff

The Sneaky Chef: Simple Strategies for Hiding Healthy Food in Your Kids' Favorite Meals by Missy Lapine

Sneaky Fitness: Fun, Foolproof Ways to Slip Fitness into Your Childs Everyday Life by Missy Chase Lapine and Larysa Didio

Media

Community 

The City of Upper Arlington Parks and Recreation Department offers a variety of activities for the whole family. See the Activity Guide for more information. 

Ideas for Educators

Related Materials



  • ,


    ,


    ,


    ,


Indexes/Databases

Alt Health Watch offers full-text articles that focus on holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness. 

Kids Search by EbscoHost allows elementary and middle school students to search by keyword or topic.

Searchasaurus provides children with a specially designed search tool to access magazines, newspapers, encyclopedias, and pictures.

Websites

FamilyDoctor.org from the American Academy of Family Physicians features health information for the whole family. 

Franklin County offers a version of the Let's Move initiative including local statistics and facts relating to Franklin County. 

HealthyChildren.org from the American Academy of Pediatrics provides wellness information for parents of babies through young adolescence. 

Centers for Disease Control and Prevention features Bam! Body and Mind for a variety of health information for younger readers along with a Healthy Youth page for parents and educators. 

KidsHealth is supported by the Nemours, a nonprofit organization devoted to children's health. This site features sections devoted to parents, teens, kids, and educators that are free of “doctor speak.”

MedLine Plus, a service of the U.S. National Library of Medicine, provides a children's page explaining how the body works along with quizzes and other activities. Reliable health information for teens is available on the MedLine Plus teens page.  

Nourishinteractive.com comes from a web based company dedicated to promoting healthy family living through information, games, interactive tools, meal planning and recipes.

The USDA offers the children's page at Nutrition.gov as a gateway for information on nutrition and physical activity beginning with the infant stages. ChooseMyPlate.gov also sponsored by the USDA provides in-depth information on US food guidelines, weight management and physical activity for children.

WebMD children's health home page provides in-depth and timely medical material and news for parents and caregivers.