Guide Topic

This guide provides a collection of supporting resources for patrons with dyslexia.

Abstract

Support available in our Youth Department

  • Materials:
    • Comprehensive Decodable book selection from the following publishers/series:
      • Flyleaf books
      • The Alphabet series
      • Power readers
      • Supercharged readers
      • Phonics funnies
      • Sound Out chapter books
      • Primary Phonics Storybooks 
      • Bob books
    • These decodable books are available at the Tremont library, and eligible for request at any UAPL location. They are easily found in the catalog by searching using keywords: decodable, or series or publisher name ( i.e., flyleaf). They are also organized according to their publisher-specific leveling system. 
  • Equipment:
    • Color Overlays are available in the Youth department to borrow. Both large sheets and ruler-sized with reading line overlays are available.
  • Programs:
    • Annual Winter Reading Program: Read books (variety of levels, topics) during this six week passive program and get a chance to win fun prizes.
    • Summer Reading Club: Spend time reading during this eight week reading program! Children read to earn prizes.  Also many fun performers and events.
    • Book Buddies: Teens entering grades 6-12 volunteer time to act as reading mentors for younger buddies entering grades 1-3. Registration is required; this is a summer program.
    • Reading with Rover (Miller Park) and Tail-Wagging Tutors (Lane): Students can sign up for time to read to therapy dogs.
    • Lego Lit (K-3) and Family Books and Build (PreK): Themed stories are read aloud, then the kids get to play with Legos, or Duplos. The actual building is spatial, visual, sequential, and requires problem-solving, all excellent activities that duplicate skills needed to learn how to read.
  • Technology:
    • APPS available on iPads in the Main Youth department that provide literacy support for children with Dyslexia:
      • Magnispies: Aim your trusty magnifying glass and quickly eradicate the spies on the page by matching the secret code (the vowel in the word on their secret spy folder). Stop spies with the same secret code in a row to increase your score.
        This reading game is recommended for people with dyslexia who want to improve fluency and accuracy in recognizing the vowel in words, which is one of the core reading skills necessary to fluid reading.
      • Bob Books: This app introduces and teaches various literacy skills, such as the connection between letters and sounds, sounding out simple words, and spelling words you’ve read using a structured game format.
      • Word Magic: This app teaches words and spelling. You are able to set initial, medial, or final position in words.
      • Jumbleline: Jumbline is a word puzzle that challenges your speed, agility, pattern recognition, and spelling prowess as you try and find all the possible words within a set of letters. It includes a built-in dictionary.
      • Dictionary
      • Little Writer: Little Writer is a letter-tracing app that encourages and teaches children how to write letters, shapes, and numbers. Kids use their fingers to follow an icon along the letter's shape, exercising a child's muscle memory and dexterity, and helping them familiarize themselves with the alphabet.
      • Find the Letters: A favorite of special education teachers and psychologists, this app asks learners to find letters and numbers in a coloring grid. It helps build skills in spatial positioning, depth orientation, form discrimination, and concentration and attention.
      • Toontastic: Toontastic allows kids to draw, animate, and share their own custom cartoons. Just hit “Record” and tell a story while making the characters and other cartoon assets move. When finished, share the cartoon on ToonTube
      • Word Wizard: Word Wizard combines text-to-speech capabilities with spelling tasks to allow kids to hear each word and letter while spelling it. The app contains over 1,400 words but allows you to add more and create your own spelling list!

Search Starters

The following materials are available for check-out:

Print

  • Decodable Books–housed in the Youth department at Tremont in bins separated by publisher/series (red circle label). 
  • Graphic Novels–for early readers (pink labels), Juvenile (blue labels) and teens (green labels).
  • Large Print Books–for readers of all ages.
  • Hi-Lo Books–Books with high interest topics and less-challenging vocabulary. Available for Juvenile and Teens.
  • Book Discussion Bags–10 copies of the book plus a discussion guide. Grade levels 2-12.

Audio books

  • Playways (self-contained audio units that require a battery and headphones)
  • Audio CDs
  • Digital Audio Books through Overdrive on our website

Indexes/Databases

Subscription Databases and materials available through our website (free with library card at home or in library; find them in the Research section of our website).

Databases and E-Books

  • Tumblebooks Library: wide selection of titles, read along feature
  • Bookflix: pair fiction and nonfiction/review for comprehension
  • Toon Books: free website

E-Book and Audio Book Collection–available through our website on Overdrive

  • Supports a wide variety of ebook devices like Nook, Kindle, Sony Readers, iPad, etc. Can adjust font size and background for easier tracking.
  • Audiobooks for ipad and mp3 formats. For help with initial setup, see instructions and/or call our media department.

Reference/Sources

Booklists

Labeling/Orientation

  • We color code our book collections ( i.e., Decodable stickers are red, J-Fiction stickers are blue, Picture Books are yellow, Non-Fiction is white/orange or pink for early grades.).  On the Juvenile Non-Fiction endcaps and the shelf-markers within, we have some visual cues to subjects.
  • We also offer visual tours with audio of the Youth department on our website.

Websites