The Fault in Our Stars Read Alikes

Tracie's picture

This blog entry is guest written by one of our summer interns, Sophia Fisher.  Sophia, a junior at Upper Arlington High School, has some read alike recommendations if you loved The Fault in Our Stars.

Loved The Fault in Our Stars? Read this next!

 

Fault in Our Stars cover imageThe Fault in Our Stars, a young adult novel by acclaimed author John Green, has flown off the shelves with the premier of The Fault in Our Stars movie.  If you loved this book (or movie), or if you are the 168th person in the request line for this fabulous novel, check out these read alikes.  They may help dampen any post-reading-an-emotional-book withdrawal that many fans of “The Fault in Our Stars” have experienced.

 

 

 

 

Dash & Lily's Book of Dares cover imatge

Dash & Lily’s Book of Dares by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan.

Told in the alternating voices of Dash and Lily, two sixteen-year-olds carry on a wintry scavenger hunt at Christmas-time in New York, neither knowing quite what–or who–they will find.  This whirlwind romance is sure to captivate readers from the first page to the last.

 

 

 

Autobiography of a Face cover imageAutobiography of a Face by Lucy Grealy

“I spent five years of my life being treated for cancer, but since then I've spent fifteen years being treated for nothing other than looking different from everyone else. It was the pain from that, from feeling ugly, that I always viewed as the great tragedy of my life. The fact that I had cancer seemed minor in comparison.”

Lucy Grealy is diagnosed with a potentially terminal cancer when she is nine years old.  When she returns to school, she faces taunts from classmates and friends.  This book captures the essence of true strength of truth and beauty, and addresses what it means to triumph over suffering.

 

The Half Life of Planets cover image

The Half Life of Planets by Emily Franklin and Brendan Halpin

An unlikely romance develops between a science-minded girl who is determined to reclaim her reputation and a boy with Asperger's Syndrome.  This is a story about two kids who discover that the best parts of people can’t be summed up easily.  Forget the cheesy cover­—it is worth it.