Upper Arlington History

Guide Topic

Bedford Park, now known as Triangle Park in 1918. Early Upper Arlington homes can be seen in the background.This guide was created to assist those searching for historical information about Upper Arlington and the surrounding areas, and it highlights the unique and varied collection of the Reference Department at the Main Library.

As always, stop by or call the Reference Librarians at (614) 486-3342 if you would like more information about researching Upper Arlington history.

Indexes/Databases

The library's Online Databases in most cases are available for use at home with your  UAPL library card number and PINPlease note: Links to our databases open in a new window or tab in your browser.

UA Archives - This incomparable resource is the Upper Arlington Public Library’s digital library initiative. Through the  UA Archives, the library partners with local organizations and individuals to digitally preserve our community’s historical resources and make them available online. Collections in the UA Archives include:

  • Norwester Yearbooks
  • Norwester Magazines
  • Thompson Family Archives
  • Miller Family Archives
  • Historical Images
  • City and Village Documents
  • Wall of Honor Recipients
  • Historical Maps
Upper Arlington News Index - A project of the Upper Arlington Public Library's Reference Department, this index can be used to search articles published from 1988 to the final publication of the Upper Arlington News on April 18, 2012. The Reference Room of the Upper Arlington Public Library houses copies of this newspaper, as well as microfilm.
Columbus Dispatch Archives - This database includes full-text articles of The Columbus Dispatch from 1985 to the present.

More historical databases that may prove useful when researching UA history:

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - For primary source documents related to major historic events outside of Upper Arlington, try this source, where you can access full-image issues of the complete run of The New York Times and Wall Street Journal.
Ancestry Library Edition In-Library Use Only - If you are looking into Upper Arlington history for genealogical reasons, dig even deeper with Ancestry.
Heritage Quest Online - Another database for genealogists, this source is available for use outside the library, and includes the entire US Federal Census, PERSI, books and other collections for genealogical researchers..

Reference Resources

Copies of the following books on the history of Upper Arlington are always available for use in the Reference Department, and a limited number of copies are available for checkout. Follow the catalog links for availability.

Microfilm of local newspapers, available for use in the Reference Department of the Main Library:

  • Upper Arlington News (September 1954 - April 2012)
  • Citizen Journal (1980 - 1985)
  • Columbus Dispatch (1969 - January 2013)
  • Tri-Village News (1930-2012)

Current issues and some back issues of local newspapers available for use in the Reference Department, with titles including:

Journals/Magazines

Some issues of these magazines are available for checkout; most older issues are held in storage in the Reference Room of the Main Library. Check the catalog links for more holding information.

Archives/Special Collections

Upper Arlington and Ohio Collections

The Ohio Room houses UAPL's collection of books about Upper Arlington, Columbus and Ohio.

OhioFile

Digital Index of major articles in local publications like Upper Arlington This Week, Columbus Monthly, Columbus CEO, Timeline and Ohio Magazine. Searchable by a Reference Librarian at the Main Library. Call or stop by for more information.

Upper Arlington Pamphlet File

Newspaper clippings, booklets, documents, etc. related to Upper Arlington, divided into topics such as Biography, Events, Businesses, City Council, Schools, and more. Located in the Reference Department in the lower level of the Main Library. See a Reference Librarian for assistance locating and searching in this collection.

Websites

These recommended websites are chosen by a Reference Librarian as reliable sources of information when researching the history of Upper Arlington and the surrounding area:

Local

State

Search Starters

See a list of all the titles UAPL has in its collection on the subject of Upper Arlington and Columbus history by clicking on the following links: