Guide Topic

The world of sports is vast and varied. Sports of all kinds arouse passion in the spectator and heroic feats in the athlete. Team sports can stir loyalty and camaraderie that cannot be experienced in any other way. Individual sports engender self-confidence, poise, strength and exhilaration. Both types foster a spirit of competition, not to mention a feeling of fun! From the professional to the amateur every culture and every era has its favorite sports. The librarians in the Reference Department of the Upper Arlington Public Library have selected a few winning strategies to coach you to gold medal research on the topic.

Indexes/Databases

The following are part of the Upper Arlington Public Library's premium resources. Unless you are in one of our library locations, you will need your library card number and PIN in order to access them. Please note: Links to our databases open in a new window or tab in your browser.

Gale Biography in Context Database Logo
Gale Biography in Context
Provides access to hundreds of biographies of athletes and coaches across every kind of sport.

Pop Culture Universe Database Logo
Pop Culture Universe 
Sports have been a major facet of pop culture through the last century in America and the world. Read fascinating articles about the history of a variety sports and how specific athletes and occurrences in sports can have a long-lasting effect on culture.

Price It Database Logo
PriceIt! Antiques and Collectibles
From baseball cards to autographed jerseys to game-used footballs and much more, find out how much your sports memorabilia is worth with the most comprehensive pricing tool in the world.

Facts on File Issues and Controversies Database Logo
Facts on File Issues and Controversies
Read a variety of viewpoints on some of the many controversial issues that come up when sports are involved, including articles on steroids, injuries, college athletics and much more.

Reference Resources

Located in the Reference Room of the Main Library is an extensive collection of reference books covering a variety of sports, and include information on rules, history, statistics, records and more. Below are just a few examples of titles you will find in the collection.

Sports research can also be done using the library's collection of general reference books, which include:

Journals/Magazines

The following are some of the sports-related magazines in UAPL's collection, which are available for checking out.

Also, check out digital copies of more sports related magazine titles, including ESPN Magazine, Soccer America and Snow Boarder, through UAPL's Zinio collection.

Archives/Special Collections

Ohio Room

The Ohio Room in the Reference Department of UAPL is home to several books covering Upper Arlington, Columbus and Ohio Sports, including such titles as:

Also, check out UAPL Reference Department's collection of newspaper clippings and magazine articles that cover sports history in Upper Arlington, Columbus and Ohio. See a librarian to access this collection.

Primary Sources in Sports History

The Reference Department retains many years of back issues and/or microfilm to some popular news and entertainment magazines containing historically valuable information written during important events and time periods, including  Sports Illustrated going back to 1958. See a Reference Librarian for help finding specific articles.

Websites

The following are just a few librarian-recommended websites for finding information about local and national sports.

Media

Ohio Sports Teams

  • Cincinnati Bengals                                                                                                               
  • Cincinnati Reds                                                                 
  • Cleveland Browns                                                            
  • Cleveland Cavaliers                                                             
  • Cleveland Indians                                                            
  • Columbus Clippers                                                           
  • Columbus Crew                                                                                
  • Columbus Blue Jackets                                                  
  • Ohio State Buckeyes

Sports Museums in Ohio

Search Starters

Besides the various subject headings listed below, a wealth of information on sports topics can be found by typing in a specific sport, such as swimming, football, bicycling, etc. For a list of materials UAPL has on general sports subjects, click on some of the following links.

Related Materials