The Winter 2014-15 Program Guide is out. Available for download right here or for pickup at your library.
Senior Citizen Resources
Blekko Slashtags contain a list of websites - picked by our reference librarians - and when you search with a slashtag, you only search those sites.
All Available Subject Guides
As an increasing percentage of the U. S. population reaches old age, the need for information about them grows. Those who are going through the process seek information that will help them cope with the challenges of aging. Those who want to learn more, seek statistics and facts.
The reference librarians of the Upper Arlington Public Library Reference Department have provided useful, current and reliable information to help older adults navigate the third act of their lives with dignity, confidence and humor; and for those who are studying the topic, there is a wealth of facts and figures.
This is not a comprehensive list, but rather a pathfinder to help you find all that you need.
In addition to providing these resources, the library also offers the free Outreach Services program, which delivers library materials to our local patrons that are homebound due to illness, injury or advanced age. Click the link or call 614-486-9621 ext. 128 for more information.
The following are part of the Upper Arlington Public Library's premium resources. Unless you are in one of our library locations, you will need your library card in order to access them. Please note: Links to our databases will open in a new window or tab in your browser.
Information for Senior Citizens:
Legal Forms (Gale) - Provides access to thousands of Ohio legal forms that cover hundreds of legal subjects, including elder law, estate planning and power of attorney.
Consumer Health Complete - Includes medical information designed to meet patients' information needs, including specific information geared towards senior citizens.
Opposing Viewpoints - Find current information and explore differing viewpoints on today's important social issues affecting seniors, including such topics as medicare/medicaid, social security, retirement, health care and much more.
Information about Senior Citizens:
Sociological Collection - Find extensive research on older people as a population group in this database of peer-reviewed journal articles covering all areas of sociology.
Statistical Abstract of the United States - An invaluable source for those researching older people in the United States, it allows researchers to find statistics on population characteristics by age.
These materials are available for use in the Reference Department of the Main Library. Click on the links for more location information.
The Consumer Collection and Ohio Room, both located in the Reference Department of UAPL's Main Library, have many sources specific to Senior Citizens, including information on:
- Elder Law
- Estate Planning in Ohio
- Hearing Aids
- Long-Term Care
- Organizing Legal and Medical Information
See a Librarian for more information or help locating these collections.
National Organizations and Federal Agencies
- Administration for Community Living – Older Adults
- National Council on Aging
- NIH Senior Health
- Nursing Home Compare
Central Ohio Resources
- Central Ohio Area Agency on Aging
- Franklin County Office on Aging
- LifeCare Alliance – Meals on Wheels, etc.
- Upper Arlington 2012-2014 Resource Directory for Older Adults and Their Families
- Upper Arlington Commission on Aging – Kind Call, Project Lifesaver, etc.
- Upper Arlington Senior Center
Continue your research by seeing a list of titles in UAPL's collection on the following subjects relevant to seniors:
Mary A. Languirand
Janet Yagoda Shagam