Medicine and Health

Medicine and Health

Guide Topic

Stethoscope + Sphygmomanometer (Blood Pressure Cuff) by Lucas Hayas / lucashayas.comYou may want to learn more about a new fitness program or diet, or perhaps you want further information on a medication prescribed by your doctor. No matter what you need to research regarding health and medicine, it's important to get information that is current and reliable.

This guide will help you find resources available through the library on a variety of topics related to health and medicine, including information about drugs, fitness, diseases, alternative medicine, and much more.

And don’t forget, you can always contact a Reference Librarian by phone, textemail, or in person for assistance in using our databases and eBooks.


The following are part of the Upper Arlington Public Library's premium resources. Unless you are in one of our library locations, you will need your library card number and PIN in order to access them. Please note: Links to our databases open in a new window or tab in your browser.

Consumer Health Complete powered by EBSCOHost

Consumer Health Complete - Provides a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content which is designed to support patients' information needs.

Reference USA

ReferenceUSA - This database includes an extensive and detailed healthcare directory. A custom search will allow you to narrow down physicians or dentists not only by location and specialty, but even by age, gender, medical school information, and much more.

Medline (EBSCO)
MEDLINE - Provides authoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care, pre-clinical sciences, and much more. MEDLINE is a creation of the National Library of Medicine.

Reference Resources

These are just a few titles available for use in the Reference Department of the Main Library related to Health and Medicine.


Issues of the following newsletter titles are kept up to a year in the library. See a reference librarian for information on how to search for specific topics, or access older issues.


E-Reference Books

GVRL history encyclopedia book cover
GVRL history encyclopedia book cover
GVRL history encyclopedia book cover

GVRL: eBooks on Medicine - Access The Gale Encyclopedias of Medicine, Fitness, and Diets, as well as other authoritative medical and wellness books.

Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is the home to the library's collection of reference eBooks. Like our reference databases, these e-books are available anywhere, anytime of day to anyone with an internet connection and UAPL library card number and PIN.

“Best of” Lists

Find the current Best Docs and Top Dentist lists from Columbus Monthly at the Reference Desk.


Some current issues of the following magazine and journal titles are available for checking out, while in some cases older issues may be accessed at the Main Library's Reference Department. Follow the links to the catalog or see a librarian for more information:

Also, check out digital copies of more health-related magazines, including Men's Fitness, Women's Health, and Spirituality and Health through the library's Zinio Collection.

Search Starters

Continue your research by seeing an entire list of materials UAPL has in its collection on subjects related to Medicine and Health.

Related Materials