Language and Literature

Guide Topic

Whether you wish to publish a book of poems, find a wonderful novel to read, write a research paper or learn a language, you will find some of the best resources to do so in this list. Reference librarians at the Upper Arlington Public Library have included items from the library's print and electronic collection in addition to sources on the internet to serve your literary and language needs.

Keep in mind that works of fiction and magazines in other languages may be found in the library's print collection.

Indexes/Databases

The following are part of Upper Arlington Public Library's premium resources. Unless you are in one of our library locations, you will need your library card number and PIN to access them. Please note: Links to our databases open in a new window or tab in your browser.

Language


Mango Languages
- An online language-learning system designed to help people learn Spanish, French, Japanese, Brazilian Portuguese, German, Mandarin Chinese, Greek, Italian and many more.
  

Oxford English Dictionary - Get definitions and the histories of over 600,000 words covering 100,000 years of history in this authority on the English language.

 

 

  

Literature

Artemis Literary Sources - Are you looking for literary criticisms on a certain book, poem or short story, or do you want to read a biography of a prominent author or read a plot synopsis of a classic? For research on all literary topics, authors and their works, this database includes full-text research articles covering all genres, disciplines, time periods and regions of the world.

Literary Reference Center - This database is another great source for information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and time-frames.

 


Novelist Plus - The source for those always wondering what to read next, Novelist Plus is a comprehensive and easy-to-use reader's advisory tool for fiction and non-fiction.

  


Literature Databases: American & English Literature Collection
-This source is a collection of works of poetry, drama and prose from the 16th through 20th centuries, based on books and other sources originally published in print.

Reference Resources

Materials always available for use in the Reference Department of the Main Library include many sources like:

  • Style Guides
  • English Language Dictionaries
  • Book Reviews
  • Foreign Language Dictionaries
  • Literature Encyclopedias
  • Literary Criticism Collections
  • …and much more!

Here are just a few examples of recently acquired titles:

Journals/Magazines

Some current issues of the following magazine and journal titles are available for checking out, while in some cases older issues may be accessed at the Main Library's Reference Department. Follow the links to the catalog or see a librarian for more information:

Note: In addition to these titles related to Language and Literature, the library also subscribes to several foreign language magazines, including titles in Spanish, German, French, Chinese, Japanese and Korean.

Archives/Special Collections

Local Sources

The Ohio Room, located in the Reference Department at UAPL's Main Library, houses the Upper Arlington Collection, where you can find fiction and non-fiction books by Upper Arlington authors, as well as books about Upper Arlington. 

There you will also find back issues of Ohio literary magazines:

Book Reviews 

The Reference Department is also home to many print sources for current and historical book reviews. Titles include:

Search Starters

See a list of titles UAPL has in its collection on subjects related to Language and Literature:

Related Materials