The Winter 2014-15 Program Guide is out. Available for download right here or for pickup at your library.
Blekko Slashtags contain a list of websites - picked by our reference librarians - and when you search with a slashtag, you only search those sites.
All Available Subject Guides
It’s your money. You don’t want to lose it. You may be willing to take risks with it or you may want to just keep it safe and stay ahead of inflation. But whatever type of investor you are, you need reliable sources of information to make wise decisions about your money.
The reference librarians at the Upper Arlington Public Library have selected a variety of sources to help you understand the market, evaluate a stock, bond or mutual fund, read about how famous investors managed to succeed, and generally learn all that you need to know in order to make the most of your hard-earned cash.
The following are premium subscription resources available to UAPL patrons. To access them from home, you will need your Upper Arlington Public Library card number and PIN. Please note: Links to our databases open in a new window or tab in your browser.
Investment Ratings and Research Sources
Morningstar Investment Research Center - Features comprehensive financial information on mutual funds, stocks and ETFs . Create your own portfolios, compare funds to see how they work together, and read lists of current fund and stock recommendations.
Value Line Research Center - Provides access to the authoritative Value Line Investment Survey and six other Value Line products, including the Small & Mid-Cap Edition and the Mutual Fund Survey. Note: This resource is only accessible from one of our library locations.
Weiss Financial Ratings Online - This source has investment ratings from TheStreet.com on over 6,000 stocks and 16,000 mutual funds.
Business Source Premier - Get industry and company profiles as well as market research reports from this database, which includes full-text articles from over 2,000 journal titles.
Encyclopedia of American Industries - This resource provides detailed, comprehensive information on a wide range of industries in every realm of American business.
ProQuest National Newspapers and Historical Newspapers - For current investment research, check out National Newspapers to search current, full-text articles of The Wall Street Journal and New York Times. For past investment information, the NYT and WSJ Historical Newspapers database will be invaluable in your research.
Among UAPL's newspaper subscriptions are the following titles of interest to investors. Find current issues in the Reference Department of the Main Library. For older issues, see a reference librarian.
- Business First (Columbus)
- Daily Reporter
- Investor's Business Daily
- Wall Street Journal
Investment Newsletters and Publications
These are a few of the titles in UAPL's extensive Investment Periodicals Collection, located in the Reference Department of the Main Library.
- Consumer Reports Money Advisor
- Dow Theory Forecasts
- DRIP Investor
- Investment Quality Trends
- Kiplinger's Retirement Report
- No-Load Fund Investor
- No Load Fund X
- Outlook (Standard & Poor's)
- Value Line Investment Survey
Finally, here are a few reference book titles to give you an idea of what you will find in our collection.
The following are some of UAPL's popular business and financial magazine titles. These titles have recent issues available for checking out, and in some cases, there is an archive of older issues in the Main Library's Reference Department. Follow the links to the catalog or see a librarian for more information.
See a list of titles UAPL has in its collection related to Investments and Investing by clicking on some of the following subject terms.
- Benjamin Graham
- Burton G. Malkiel
- John Del Vecchio
- Charles R. Geisst
- John Reese
- Scott P. Frush