History

History

Guide Topic

World map by Ortelius, 1570

Whether you are researching a history paper or just want to learn more about a certain time period or event in history, these are some great sources to get you started.

UAPL's Reference Librarians have compiled these recommended websites, books, magazines and databases that are authoritative and perfect for bringing local, American and World History alive for you.

And don’t forget, you can always contact a Reference Librarian by phone, textemail, or in person for assistance in using our databases and eBooks.

Indexes/Databases

The following are part of the Upper Arlington Public Library's premium resources. Unless you are in one of our library locations, you will need your library card number and PIN in order to access them. Please note: Links to our databases open in a new window or tab in your browser.

ABC-CLIO history databases

ABC-CLIO History Databases - Choose one of ABC-CLIO's history-related databases to research your topic: American History, Daily Life through History, Pop Culture Universe, World at WarWorld History: Ancient & Medieval Eras or World History: The Modern Era. You will find articles, primary sources, videos, audio and more.

ProQuest Historical Newspapers

ProQuest Historical Newspapers - Find complete runs of The New York Times and Wall Street Journal. This resource allows users to browse newspaper articles covering historical topics, read the newspaper from a specific date, or search by keyword, date range and type of article. Perfect for those who need primary sources.

Gale Biography in Context

Gale Biography in Context - Researching a certain person in history? Start here to get biographical information on people from all over the world, from multiple perspectives.

Reference Resources

When researching an event in history, be sure to visit the Reference Department of the Tremont (Main) Library to search our book collection covering history. Ask a reference librarian for help finding materials. 

Reference Books

E-Reference Books

GVRL history encyclopedia book cover
GVRL history encyclopedia book cover
GVRL history encyclopedia book cover

GVRL: eBooks on History - Access authoritative and fascinating encyclopedias and other reference sources covering American and world history, from anywhere, any time of day. Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is the home to the library's collection of reference eBooks.

Journals/Magazines

Some current issues of the following magazine and journal titles are available for checking out, while in some cases older issues may be accessed at the Main Library's Reference Department. Follow the links to the catalog or see a librarian for more information:

Archives/Special Collections

The Reference Department retains many years of back issues and/or microfilm to some popular news and entertainment magazines containing historically valuable information written during important events and time periods. Titles that are retained include:

The following print indexes will help you locate specific articles within these magazines:

For local history research, the Upper Arlington Public Library Ohio Room contains materials on the history of Ohio, Columbus and Franklin County, including books and magazines. The reference department also houses a pamphlet file that includes clippings of news articles chronicling aspects of the recent history of Columbus and Franklin county. See a librarian for assistance locating and searching this collection.

Websites

These recommended websites are chosen by a Reference Librarian as reliable sources of information on various aspects of History:

Search Starters

Get started with your research by seeing some examples of what UAPL has in its collection on subjects related to History: