The Fall 2014 Program Guide is out. Available for download right here or for pickup at your library.
Healthy UA - Social Wellness
Blekko Slashtags contain a list of websites - picked by our reference librarians - and when you search with a slashtag, you only search those sites.
All Available Subject Guides
Social wellness focuses on the ability to interact with and relate to others in multiple settings, environments and situations. This guide will help you find resources on a variety of topics related to social wellness including volunteerism and participating in clubs or community activities.
The following are part of the Upper Arlington Public Library's premium resources. Unless you are in one of our library locations, you will need your library card number and PIN in order to access them. Please note: Links to our databases open in a new window or tab in your browser.
Columbus Dispatch Archives
Provides articles appearing in the Columbus Dispatch from 1985 to the present, including obituaries.
Presents scholarly and peer-reviewed information on sociology, including culture, social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, and more.
Presents historical resources about Upper Arlington provided by partnerships betweenUAPL and local organizations and individuals. Includes historical maps, Norwester Yearbooks, Norwester Magazines, images, and more.
Upper Arlington News Index
Provides an index to most articles published by Suburban News Publications in the Upper Arlington News from 1987 to the final publication on April 18, 2012. The content of articles can be obtained by contacting the Reference Department.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: eBooks on Social Wellness
Includes full online access to the following titles (click on the titles to access):
These materials are available for use in the Reference Department of the Main Library. Click on the links for more location information.
- The City of Upper Arlington : Facts and Photos, 1917-1976
- Float Builder's Manual 2011
- Folklore : an Encyclopedia of Beliefs, Customs, Tales, Music, and Art
- History of Upper Arlington, a suburb of Columbus, Ohio
- The “How To” Grants Manual : Successful Grantseeking Techniques for Obtaining Public and Private Grants
- Miss Manners' Guide to Excruciatingly Correct Behavior
- Robert's Rules of Order, Newly Revised, in Brief
- Upper Arlington
- Upper Arlington Area Chamber of Commerce Community Guide & Business Directory
Some current issues of the following magazine and journal titles are available for checking out, while in some cases older issues may be accessed at the Main Library's Reference Department. Follow the links to the catalog or see a librarian for more information. These are some of the titles UAPL subscribes to related to Social Wellness.
These recommended websites are chosen as reliable sources for information related to Social Wellness.
Social Involvement or Volunteering
- Barrington PTO
- Cultural Arts Commission
- Greensview PTO
- HandsOn Central Ohio
- Hastings PTO
- Jones PTO
- Leadership UA
- Northwest Kiwanis
- Syntero Counseling Services
- ThisWeek Upper Arlington News
- Tri-Village Lions
- UA Alumni Association
- UA Chamber of Commerce
- UA Civic Association
- UA Commission on Aging
- UA Community Foundation
- UA Education Foundation
- UA Historical Society
- UA Parks and Recreation
- UA Public Library
- UA Rotary
- UA Senior Center
- UA Volunteering
- UA Women's Club
- UAHS Clubs and Activities
- UAHS PTO
- Volunteer UA
- Wickliffe PTO
- Windermere PTO
Dale Carnegie & Associates, Inc.
Alison Thompson with MeiMei Fox
John Raynolds with Gene Stone
Ashley Rae Harris