On Saturday, Sept 20th, at 6 PM our catalog, the “My Account” page and card signup will become unavailable until Sunday morning.
Healthy UA - Occupational Wellness
Blekko Slashtags contain a list of websites - picked by our reference librarians - and when you search with a slashtag, you only search those sites.
All Available Subject Guides
Occupational wellness emphasizes the development of a satisfying job or career, resulting in positive contributions while maintaining a healthy work-life balance. This guide will help you find resources on a variety of topics related to career and occupational wellness including job hunting, skills development and finding personal satisfaction and enrichment in your work or profession.
The following are part of the Upper Arlington Public Library's premium resources. Unless you are in one of our library locations, you will need your library card number and PIN in order to access them. Please note: Links to our databases open in a new window or tab in your browser.
Business Source Premier
Provides critical business information, including company and industry profiles, country reports, market research reports, peer-reviewed articles, and much more.
LearningExpress Library's Job & Career Accelerator
Create an account on LearningExpress Library to access their Job & Career Accelerator, which has everything you need to find and excel at a job, including resume and cover letter help, career information, job postings, software training and more.
Contains directory information on businesses and households in the United States and Canada, as well as listings for jobs and internships.
Regional Business News
Contains regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. Includes some international coverage.
Gale Virtual Reference Library: eBooks on Occupational Wellness
Includes full online access to the following titles (click on the titles to access):
These materials are available for use in the Reference Department of the Main Library. Click on the links for more location information.
- The AARP Crash Course in Finding the Work You Love : the Essential Guide to Reinventing Your Life
- College Majors Handbook : with Real Career Paths and Payoffs
- Ferguson Career Resource Guide for People with Disabilities
- Ferguson Career Resource Guide to Apprenticeship Programs
- The Ferguson Guide to Resumes and Job Hunting Skills : a Step-by-Step Guide to Preparing for Your Job Search
- Knock 'em Dead Resumes
- Major Ohio employers : Ranked by Employment, Sales and Market Value
- Next-day Job Interview : Prepare Tonight and Get the Job Tomorrow
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
- The Pathfinder : How to Choose or Change Your Career for a Lifetime of Satisfaction and Success
- Summer Jobs Worldwide
- The Top 100 : the Fastest-growing Careers for the 21st Century
- The 2-hour Job Search : Using Technology to Get the Right Job Faster
- What Color Is Your Parachute?
The Reference Department has current issues of newspapers with classifieds from multiple cities. UAPL also has over 250 magazines subscriptions covering a variety of fields and disciplines. The business-related magazines at the library include:
- Black Enterprise
- Business Week
- Columbus CEO
- Fast Company
- Harvard Business Review
- Sales & Marketing Management
- Smart Business Columbus
Other subjects covered that can help an individual improve their occupational wellness include technology, writing, current events, networking and education. Just a few examples of titles are:
- American Scholar
- Successful Farming
- Technology Review
- Working Mother
Some current issues of the listed magazine and journal titles are available for checking out, while in some cases older issues may be accessed by seeing a librarian in the Main Library's Reference Department. Follow the links to the catalog to get more information and request specific issues.
These recommended websites are chosen as reliable sources for information related to Occupational Wellness.
- O*Net Online
- Occupational Outlook Handbook
- Ohio Labor Market Information
- Ohio Means Jobs
- Job Hunt
- The Riley Guide
- My Next Move: Apprenticeships
- National Career Development Association Resources
- New Directions Career Center
- Dress for Success Columbus
- Jewish Family Services
- Employment for Seniors
- AARP Work Search
- LinkedIn iOS | Android
- CareerBuilder iOS | Android
- TweetMyJobs iOS | Android
- Job Search by The Ladders iOS | Android
Robin McKay Bell and Liam Mifsud
Robert Steven Kaplan
Beatrice J. Elyé