Guide Topic

Healthy UA
Intellectual wellness focuses on lifelong learning and the intentional practice of challenging your mind with new concepts, issues and experiences. Individuals and families that strive to achieve intellectual wellness participate in creative, stimulating mental activities in an attempt to expand their knowledge about a variety of topics to help with problem-solving for themselves and others. This guide will help you find resources on a variety of topics related to intellectual wellness including local classes and workshops, museums, cultural arts, online learning, current events and much more.

Indexes/Databases

The following are part of the Upper Arlington Public Library's premium resources. Unless you are in one of our library locations, you will need your library card number and PIN in order to access them. Please note: Links to our databases open in a new window or tab in your browser.

Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center (EBSCO)Hobbies and Crafts Reference Center ( EBSCO)
Features information on popular hobbies and recreation activities, including arts, crafts, collections, games, models, needlework, and outdoor activities, such as birding and hiking.

 

Mango LanguagesMango Languages
Offers interactive language learning courses, including materials on English as a second language, and languages such as Spanish, French, German, Japanese, Arabic, and more.

 

LearningExpress LibraryLearningExpress Library
Provides access to online practice tests and tutorials for academic and occupational exams, including the  ACTSATLSATMCATTOEFL, and exams in the civil services, cosmetology, plumbing, real estate, and more.

 

Gale Opposing Viewpoints in ContextGale Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Provides multiple perspectives on current, controversial social issues, including overviews, essays, primary source documents, and more.

 

Facts on File Issues and ControversiesFacts on File Issues and Controversies
Explores controversial issues, including topics in business, politics, government, education, and popular culture. Updated weekly.

 

Points of View Reference CenterPoints of View Reference Center
Provides multiple perspectives on current, controversial social issues, including overviews, articles, and primary source documents.

Reference Resources

eBooks

GVRL logo imageGale Virtual Reference Library: eBooks on Intellectual Wellness
Includes full online access to the following titles (click on the titles to access):

 

Books

These materials are available for use in the Reference Department of the Main Library. Click on the links for more location information.

Journals/Magazines

Here are a few examples of magazines and journals the Upper Arlington Public Library subscribes to that would be relevant to someone interested in improving their intellectual wellness.  Some current issues of these titles are available for checking out, while in some cases older issues may be accessed at the Main Library's Reference Department. Follow the links to the catalog or see a librarian for more information:

Search Starters

Find materials in our catalog about Intellectual Wellness by clicking on the following subject terms.