Genealogy

Genealogy

Guide Topic

1910 Milwaukee, Wisconsin federal census page - Wkimedia Commons

Are you interested in finding out about your family history? You are not alone. Many Americans share your interest; in fact, genealogy is one of the most popular hobbies. 

Not sure where to start? There are lots of good sources with more becoming available all the time. We have sorted out some of the most useful ones to help you get started on your local family history search.

And don’t forget, you can always contact a Reference Librarian by phone, textemail, or in person for assistance in using our databases and eBooks.

Indexes/Databases

The library's Online Databases in most cases are available for use at home with your UAPL library card number and PINPlease note: Links to our databases open in a new window or tab in your browser.

Ancestry Library Edition

Ancestry Library Edition - In-Library Use Only - Ancestry features comprehensive information for conducting genealogical and local history research. It is particularly good searching birth, death and marriage records.

Heritage Quest Online
Heritage Quest Online - Available to UAPL patrons from home with a library card number and PIN. Search census records as well as other sources like genealogy and local history magazines, family and local history books, Revolutionary War records, and Government reports and documents with this database.

Reference Resources

These books and other materials that are available for use in the Reference Department of the Main Library. Click on the links for more location information:

Journals/Magazines

Some current issues of the following titles are available for checking out, while older issues may be available at the Main Library's Reference Department. Follow the links to the catalog or see a librarian for more information:

Archives/Special Collections

The Ohio Room in the Main Library's Reference Department houses some useful collections for local genealogy research, including:

  • County Histories
  • Cemetery Records for Franklin County
  • City and Suburban Directories dating back to the 1950s (some volumes may be missing; see a librarian to access this collection).

Search Starters

Get started with your research by seeing what the library has available on the subject of genealogy: