Consumer Education

Consumer Education

Guide Topic

Paying Attention to Detail by Nic Mcphee (flickr commonsWhether it's making a big purchase, planning to relocate your family, trying to make those major house or car repairs on your own, or just getting control of your finances, it's important to know where to look for information.

These Consumer Education resources can help you get started. 

And don’t forget, you can always contact a Reference Librarian by phone, textemail, or in person for assistance in using our databases and eBooks.

Indexes/Databases

The following are part of the Upper Arlington Public Library's premium resources. Unless you are in one of our library locations, you will need your library card number and PIN in order to access them.Please note: Links to our databases open in a new window or tab in your browser.

Consumer Reports

ConsumerReports.org - Provides full access to the Consumer Reports website for product ratings and buying advice, plus exclusive online content such as new product evaluations, consumer reviews and much more.

Chilton Auto Repair Manuals
Chilton Auto Repair Manuals - Provides detailed repair information, photographs, diagrams, and maintenance tables for cars, trucks, vans and SUVs.
Do It Yourself Reference Centers

Do-It-Yourself Reference Centers - The following databases include distinct “how-to” guides for projects like car repair, home improvement, and much more.

Reference Resources

Reference Books

These sources are located in the Reference Room of the Tremont Branch of UAPL, and are for use in the library only.

Reference E-Books

GVRL Comparative Guide to American Suburbs book cover
GVRL America's Top-Rated Cities book cover
GVRL Top-Rated Smaller Cities book cover

GVRL: E-books on Consumer Information - Research authoritative information about towns, cities, and suburbs in the United States, from anywhere, any time of day. Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is the home to the library's collection of reference e-books.

Like our Reference Databases, these e-books are available anywhere, anytime of day, to anyone with an internet connection and UAPL library card number and PIN.

Journals/Magazines

Some current issues of the following magazine and journal titles are available for checking out, while in some cases older issues may be accessed at the Main Library's Reference Department. Follow the links to the catalog or see a librarian for more information:

Search Starters

Click on the following links to see a list of materials UAPL has in its collection for consumers:

Related Materials