Book

"Born to run" By Christopher McDougall

Vita's picture

Removing the myth that running requires special exercises and equipment, author McDougall argues, running is at the heart of what it means to be human.  We follow the amazing Tamarahura tribe runners in Cooper Canyon to ultra marathoners; all end up in a race of fifty-miles through the heart of Tarahumara country, pitting the tribe against an odd band of Americans racers.  Fun page turning! 

The Supremes at Earl's All-You-Can-Eat by Edward Kelsey Moore

Vita's picture

Hard for me not to adore this book! The book has strong female friends wading through their 50’s dealing with life's complex relationships while living in a unique town with an embracing community. It is honest, sad, and has a big serving of hope with redemption. I never eat at buffets, too much food for me, but if Earl's was in my neighborhood I would be vying for a seat.

Wildalone, by Krassi Zourkova

Caitlin's picture

Thea Slavin is a teenage Bulgarian piano prodigy. Following in her older sister’s footsteps, she wins a scholarship to Princeton University, where she intends to discover the truth about her sister's death—and the disappearance of her body—fifteen years ago. Her musical talent and her sister’s legacy soon draw her into romantic entanglements with two brothers: the enigmatic Jake and the passionate Rhys. But there’s more to both brothers—and to her sister’s death—than Thea first understands, and discovering the truth will challenge her understanding of life, death, and love. Greek mythology supplies the elements of fantasy in this novel of dark romance, making it perfect for fans of Deborah Harkness and Stephanie Meyer.

Juvenile Fiction Selection: The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher by Dana Alison Levy

The Misadventures of the Family Fletcher is a sweet, year-in-the life tale of the four fletcher boys and their two dads, Dad and Papa.  Sam, Jax, Eli, and Frog are looking forward to a new school year with sports, plays, a new school, and friends but not everything goes as planned.  Then they meet their new neighbor who turns out to be cranky and not thrilled to live next door to a bunch of boys, but can the Fletchers win him over?  This family is smart, funny, and loving and you will love getting to know them.  

"A Light that Never Goes Out: the Enduring Saga of The Smiths" by Tony Fletcher

Vita's picture

This is a detailed story of the band The Smiths by a clearly ardent fan that would certainly be of interest to other fans of the band (like myself), but also to anyone following the history of indie music. They are such an English band, and the author details many locations and subtexts that may not be readily apparent to those who are not native Mancunians or familiar with British pop culture and local history. He talks about all of the band’s influences and shows the reader where they fit into musical history. This is a really thick book of 704 pages covering the span of the band’s life, so there’s a lot of detail here, considering they were only together for 6 years.

Doctor Sleep : a novel by Stephen King

Vita's picture

Doctor Sleep is not a re-telling of Jack Torrence and the creepy Overlook Motel.  The book works as a stand-alone novel, a bit of a sequel, but truly a new story with recurring characters from The Shining.

Starting with a summary of Danny and his mother's life over the past thirty five years, Doctor Sleep moves into the present where we find Danny coming to terms with his past; recovering from an abusive alcoholic father and fighting his own battle with sobriety.  Doctor Sleep is a humane story with a twist, characters can read minds, see the future, and communicate telepathically. However humane, King's ability to scare the heck out of you is still powerfully strong! 

Pages

Subscribe to Book