romance

Wildalone, by Krassi Zourkova

Caitlin's picture

Thea Slavin is a teenage Bulgarian piano prodigy. Following in her older sister’s footsteps, she wins a scholarship to Princeton University, where she intends to discover the truth about her sister's death—and the disappearance of her body—fifteen years ago. Her musical talent and her sister’s legacy soon draw her into romantic entanglements with two brothers: the enigmatic Jake and the passionate Rhys. But there’s more to both brothers—and to her sister’s death—than Thea first understands, and discovering the truth will challenge her understanding of life, death, and love. Greek mythology supplies the elements of fantasy in this novel of dark romance, making it perfect for fans of Deborah Harkness and Stephanie Meyer.

The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy Reichert

Caitlin's picture

After chef Elizabeth “Lou” Johnson finds her fiancée half-naked with another woman, she tries to distract herself with cooking—only to serve the worst meal of her life to Milwaukee’s meanest food critic, Al Waters, aka A. W. Wodysky. A chance meeting brings them together in a bar that night, and—unaware of each other’s true identity—Al challenges Lou to show him the best of Milwaukee. As Al falls in love with Milwaukee and Al and Lou begin to fall for each other, Lou’s restaurant begins a slow spiral toward failure, kicked off by Al’s review. Al will have to decide whether to reveal the truth to Lou, and Lou will have to find out if she’s strong enough to keep pursuing her dreams.

The Coincidence of Coconut Cake features delicious description of Milwaukee’s food scene and a sweet, slow-burn romance amid an entertaining cast of secondary characters, perfect for readers who love food and romance.

Read with Your Teen: Something in Between by Melissa de la Cruz

Jasmine de los Santos is on her way to Columbia University with a full ride when her world is ripped apart: her family is illegal. Their visas expired years ago and now everything they have worked for is at risk. Jasmine no longer knows if she fits into the American Dream, but she doesn't give up. Adults and teens alike will enjoy this book, get two copies from our library and enjoy with your teen.

Warm up with a winter romance!

Caitlin's picture

Does this weather have you wishing for a warm fire and a good book? Curl up with some heroes and heroines in these wintry romances:

In The Longest Night, Marine Captain Cecily Knight has retreated to the Canadian wilderness to live simply – away from the crowds that trigger horrific memories of her time as a prisoner of war. But when an old friend calls in a favor, she's forced to share her solitude with Ian Fairchild, an urbanite lawyer struggling with secrets of his own. Together, they find old wounds healing–and the possibility of love.

In How to Flirt with a Naked Werewolf, Mo Wenstein moves to Alaska expecting snow and small-town hospitality; what she gets is a naked man on her porch. A naked werewolf, to be specific: Cooper Graham, the very grumpy leader of the local pack. Hijinks ensue as Mo navigates the local dating scene and Cooper tracks down a killer who might be a werewolf himself.

In Unlawful Contact (the third book in Pamela Clare's I-Team series), reporter Sophie Alton is investigating the mistreatment of pregnant women in prison when convict Marc Hunter takes her hostage. Desperate to find his missing sister, kidnapping Sophie is a last resort for Marc – an honorable man driven to extreme measures. With the life of a young woman at stake and corrupt officials determined to take down both Marc and Sophie, the pair are in a race against time – and their own unruly hearts.

PS: Don't feel like braving the ice and snow? The Longest Night, How to Flirt with a Naked Werewolf, and Unlawful Contact are all available for download as ebooks! You can enjoy a great read without having to leave the house.

The Sun is Also a Star

Natasha is a girl that likes facts and reality.  Daniel is a good kid who is intent on living up to his parents' high expectations.  The two meet on a crowded street in New York city and fall in love. While neither of them believe in fate, it seems like the universe might have a different plan in store for them.  (Grades 8 and up, School Library Journal)

 

Birthday Books

Caitlin's picture

Birthdays can be occasions to reflect on accomplishments, mark achievements, and generally celebrate life. They can also offer the opportunity to set goals or start fresh. Then again, birthdays can also bring out the darker emotions: jealousy, envy, and resentment. Here are a selection of the good, the bad, and the unforgettable in fictional birthdays, from young to old:

  • Chasing the North Star by Robert Morgan: On his 18th birthday, Jonah Williams escapes the plantation where he was held as a slave since birth.
  • You and Me, Always by Jill Mansell: On the morning of her 25th birthday, a woman opens the last letter written to her by her deceased mother and discovers a secret that will change her life.
  • Ever After by Rachel Lacey: On her 29th birthday, Olivia Bennett goes to jail and meets the man of her dreams.
  • Young Once by Patrick Modiano: On her 35th birthday, a woman and her husband reflect on their early years in Paris.
  • Heirs and Assigns by Marjorie Eccles: When a wealthy retired businessman dies suspiciously on his 60th birthday, a detective must find the real killer among the many guests who would benefit from his death.

What Light

Sierra's family runs a Christmas tree farm in Oregon but travel for a month each year to California to sell them.  It's not easy leaving Oregon every year, but this Christmas Sierra meets Caleb.  Caleb has a dark past in which he made a terrible mistake and Sierra is determined to help him find forgiveness and, maybe even redemption.  If you're looking for a little romance this Christmas this just might be the book for you.  (Grades 7 and up, School Library Journal)

"The Last Chinese Chef" by Nicole Mones

Vita's picture

​Charming book about a food writer who travels to China seeking the truth of a paternity claim against her deceased husband.  In addition she receives an assignment to interview the owner of a new restaurant opening in Beijing.  She soon discovers the restaurant owner is one of ten finalists for the Chinese Cultural Olympics too. These two story lines, the paternity claim and the preparation for the culinary contest, are woven throughout the book.  This will be appealing to lovers of Chinese food, romance, and anyone who enjoys historically accurate cooking.

"The Shoemaker's Wife" by Adrianna Trigianni

Vita's picture

​A novel about Italian immigrants and their lives in northern Italy as well as in America in the early 1900s. Enza and Ciro meet on a moonlit night in the cemetery of Sant'Antonio da Padova in Schilpario, Italy when they are just teenagers. They go their separate ways to new lives in America but they never quite leave behind their beautiful homeland. The descriptions are magically vivid and although it is a love story of sorts, it's also a powerful testimony on the strength of the human spirit and the importance of family.

Pages

Subscribe to romance