fantasy

Jackaby is Back in Ghostly Echoes

Dana's picture

If you haven't read Jackaby by William Ritter then stop what you're doing and put it on hold now.  The third installment of this paranormal mystery series just came out this week and I cannot wait to dive into its pages.  The story revolves around two main characters, Abigail Rook and R. F. Jackaby.  Ms. Rook is a plucky young woman who has traveled to New England to escape her family's expectations that she becomes a proper lady and wife.  Abigail wants adventures, not manners and society and so begins her search for a job.  When she applies to a strange advertisement in the paper she finds herself working for the mysterious Jackaby and soon the two are caught up in a bewildering case involving a serial murderer.  With Abigail's keen eye for ordinary details and Jackaby's background in the unexplained the two become a great team in the face of a dangerous monster.  This book has been touted as a “Sherlock Holmes meets Doctor Who, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer” and I cannot imagine a more compelling description to a story than that.  The second book in the series, Beastly Bones, takes Abigail and Jackaby out of the city and into the country to uncover a mystery surrounding missing bones at the site of a dinosaur dig.  Only the bones might not belong to a dinosaur after all, and who, or what, is attacking everyone in the valley?  In this third installment, Ghostly Echoes, Jackaby and Abigail are tasked with helping a young ghost solve the mystery surrounding her own death and the mysterious disappearance of her fiance on the day she died.

If you love fantasy, mystery, and/or historical fiction then I highly recommend this series to you.  I've also heard they are great on audiobook! Check out the links below to reserve yourself a copy today.  

Out of This World Nebula Awards

Hari's picture

Started in 1965 by the Science Fiction Writers of America, which became the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, Inc., the Nebula Awards are voted on and presented annually by active members. Membership began with 78 writers and has grown to more than 1,500. Awards are given for the best novel, novella, novelette, and short story eligible for that year’s award, with Best Script added in 2000. Nominees for the 2015 novel award, which will be presented the second week in May at the annual awards banquet in Chicago, are shown below. In addition to the nominees, previous Nebula Award winners in the novel category are available for checkout.

Clover's Luck by Kallie George

Clover's Luck is the first book in The Magical Animal Adoption Agency series.  Clover has always considered herself unlucky and especially with pets.  Her most recent one, a pet bird, flies off into the forest and when she goes chasing after her Clover stumbles upon a flyer advertising a job at an animal adoption agency.  When Clover goes to ask about the job she is hired on the spot and soon learns the secret of M.A.A.A.; it's full of magical animals.  Fairy horses, magic toads, witch kittens, unicorns, and even a baby dragon are among the animals available to adopt. Just as Clover is feeling her luck might be changing she gets left in charge of the agency and a sneaky witch shows up causing all sorts of trouble.  Can Clover overcome her bad luck and help the animals find good homes?   (Grades 2-4 School Library Journal)

Harry Potter and the Adult Reader

Caitlin's picture

Less than a month ago, the release of Harry Potter and the Cursed Child—the stage script written by Jack Thorne and based on an original story by J.K. Rowling—reignited the passions of Harry Potter readers across the globe. While some readers have enjoyed visiting the future of their favorite characters, others have been disappointed with out-of-character portrayals and certain plot devices.

Whether you’re a reader who enjoyed Harry Potter and the Cursed Child or one who found it disappointing, if you’re hungry for more adult magical experiences, you’ll enjoy these tales of orphan wizards, secret worlds, dark and light magic, and fantastic quests. 

Juvenile Fiction Selection: The Ogre of Oglefort by Eva Ibbotson

Ivo the orphan, together with the Hag of Dribble, Ulf the Troll, and Brian the Wizard, sets out to save Princess Mirella from the dreaded Ogre of Oglefort. When the rescuers arrive at the castle they are shocked to find that the princess doesn't want to be saved!  In fact, the princess wants the ogre to turn her into a bird so she can escape an arranged marriage. To further complicate matters the Ogre isn't nearly the fearsome creature everyone believed.  He's actually rather depressed. Now the rescuers are going to help save Princess Mirella from her tyrannical royal family and help restore the Ogre and his castle to the fearsome paradise it used to be.  If you're looking for a fun fantasy story with a good sense of humor you will want to pick this book up! (Grades 4-7)

Science Fiction and Fantasy for People Who Don’t Read Science Fiction and Fantasy

Caitlin's picture

Have you avoided reading fantasy because it’s “just not your thing”? Ever picked up an interesting book, only to put it down again when you saw the science fiction sticker on the spine? You might be missing out on great stories! Whether your usual read is a classic spy novel, a contemporary work of literature, or a historical adventure, the titles below will have you rethinking your to-be-read pile.

For readers of John LeCarre, Chris Pavone, and other international spy stories:

  • City of Stairs by Robert Jackson Bennett

For readers of Raymond Chandler, Dennis LeHane, and other gritty, noir and noir-inspired mysteries:

  • Storm Front by Jim Butcher

For readers of Barbara Kingsolver, Ann Patchett, and other complex novels of humanity and spirituality:

  • The Sparrow, by Mary Doria Russell

For readers of Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Zadie Smith, and other sharp observers of the role of race:

  • Kindred, Octavia Butler

For readers of Patrick O’Brien, Alexander Kent, and other adventures from the golden age of sail:

  • His Majesty’s Dragon, Naomi Novik

"The Hobbit" by J.R.R. Tolkien

Vita's picture

This is the story of a reluctant adventurer who battles enormous forces. Bilbo Baggins, the protagonist, likes his creature comforts and is unsure as he sets out on an incredible journey to complete an important task. In order to succeed he needs to learn how to get along with others and stand up for what he believes in. It is an inspiring tale of adventure, fellowship, uncertainty, and strength.

Pages

Subscribe to fantasy