History & Governance

History & Governance

The Upper Arlington Public Library System was created by the passage of Ohio House Bill No. 494, which took effect December 11, 1967. The Library system is governed by a seven-member, independent Board of Trustees appointed by the City Council of Upper Arlington. The trustees delegate the daily administration of the Library system to the Library Director and Administration Staff.

The City of Upper Arlington is the Library's taxing authority at the local level. As of 2016, the Library receives about 54% of its income from a 2 mill levy first passed in 2007 and overwhelmingly renewed by voters in 2012. This five year operating levy will expire at the end of 2017.

As of July 2015, Ohio’s public libraries are funded through 1.7% of the State’s total general tax revenue. This fund is called the Public Library Fund and is disbursed at the county level. The UA Library is one of 7 libraries in Franklin County and receives 44% of its annual income from the Public Library Fund. While this level of state funding is rare nationwide, our current income from the state is 17% less than it was in 2008.

The Upper Arlington Public Library system is comprised of the Main Library, a 60,000 square foot facility located on Tremont Road near the geographic center of the city, the 10,000 square foot Lane Road Branch, approximately three miles to the north, and the 4,400 square foot Miller Park Branch, one and one half miles south near the center of Old Arlington.