Adult Recommendations

Chill Factor by David Paitson and Craig Merz

Do you remember when outsiders used to refer to Columbus as a cow-town or pronounced the city as Cow-lumbus? No longer. Columbus now has a vibrant downtown including the Arena District, where you can catch a Columbus Clippers baseball game, or cross the street and catch the National Hockey League’s Columbus Blue Jackets. “Chill Factor” by David Paitson and Craig Merz chronicles the events that led Columbus from being seen as a minor league town to a major league sports city. The authors describe how a minor league hockey team, The Columbus Chill, through their hard-working players and ingenious marketing campaigns helped develop interest in hockey. This hard work led to the building of five public ice rinks in central Ohio and eventually the landing of The Columbus Blue Jackets. Now there are over 3,000 central Ohio men and women playing recreational hockey in these five Chiller ice rinks. The authors do an excellent job describing the struggles, the support, and the city leaders behind the sporting growth of Columbus.

The Writer's Garden: How Gardens Inspired Our Best-Loved Authors by Jackie Bennett

Gardens hold a special place in many authors’ lives.

This book examines eighteen gardens owned by poets, writers, and novelists.  Beautiful photos document the authors’ creative spirits that not only thrive in the written word but also in their gardens. From Roald Dahl to Virginia Woolf we follow many authors through difficult times, financial hardships, personal heartbreaks, in addition to joy and professional acclaim from their writing while tending gardens they loved.

The Bullet, by Mary Louise Kelly

When a routine MRI reveals a bullet lodged in Georgetown professor Caroline Cashion’s neck, she’s shocked. The discovery soon leads to other revelations: that she was adopted, and that her birth parents were murdered in front of her—by a killer who was never caught. As the bullet in her neck drifts closer to her spine, Caroline searches for answers in Atlanta, drawing the attention of her parents’ murderer. Soon, she’ll have to make a choice: run for her life, or risk everything to confront the killer.

A suspenseful, expertly-crafted novel of family, secrets, and revenge, perfect for fans of James Patterson, Lee Child, and Harlan Coben.