Adult Recommendations

A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway

I’ve always liked Hemingway’s A Moveable Feast.  Set in 1920’s Paris the cast of real life characters, Gertrude Stein, James Joyce, Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald are living fab lives with the Hemingways’.  Their enchanted lifestyle was easily realized on $5.00 a day; enjoying fishing trips to Spain, long weekends skiing in the Alps, and wonderful evenings of incredible storytelling while relishing exquisite food and alcohol.  Hemingway’s lyrical words paint a beautiful and romantic way of life.   

Grab a bottle of champagne, good cheese plus fresh bread and head to your favorite reading spot, enjoy!

Gideon by Alex Gordon

In the tiny town of Gideon, Illinois, a witch was burned at the stake almost two hundred years ago. Now, following her father’s death, a young woman discovers that she descends from a long line of Gideon witches—and that the dark presence the town tried to destroy in 1836 is back and more dangerous than ever. Hounded by a demonic figure and threatened at every turn by Gideon’s suspicious, grudge-loving townsfolk, Lauren Reardon must unravel the mystery of her father’s past in order to save Gideon’s future—and maybe the world’s.

Tightly plotted and thoroughly imagined, Gideon is packed with unusual characters as well as some genuinely unnerving moments. Recommended for fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill, Dan Simmons, and Gillian Flynn.

1776 by David McCullough

Take a moment to sit back in your lawn chair this month and reflect about our nation’s anniversary.  Exactly 239 years ago Americans were having quite a different summer than many of us get to enjoy in 2015.  Noted historian and story-teller David McCullough takes the reader through the entire tumultuous second year of the American Revolution, arguably the most notable of the eight-year war.  Central to the book’s theme are the events of early July. On July 2, 1776, John Hancock, presiding over the delegates in Philadelphia, declared it is “…necessary to dissolve the connection between Great Britain and the American colonies…”  While the colonists rushed to celebrate the British responded quite differently.  1776 will lead you through the trials and tribulations of our newly forming nation.  1776 is a magnificent summertime read!