Adult Recommendations

The Coincidence of Coconut Cake by Amy Reichert

After chef Elizabeth “Lou” Johnson finds her fiancée half-naked with another woman, she tries to distract herself with cooking—only to serve the worst meal of her life to Milwaukee’s meanest food critic, Al Waters, aka A. W. Wodysky. A chance meeting brings them together in a bar that night, and—unaware of each other’s true identity—Al challenges Lou to show him the best of Milwaukee. As Al falls in love with Milwaukee and Al and Lou begin to fall for each other, Lou’s restaurant begins a slow spiral toward failure, kicked off by Al’s review. Al will have to decide whether to reveal the truth to Lou, and Lou will have to find out if she’s strong enough to keep pursuing her dreams.

The Coincidence of Coconut Cake features delicious description of Milwaukee’s food scene and a sweet, slow-burn romance amid an entertaining cast of secondary characters, perfect for readers who love food and romance.

A Moveable Feast by Ernest Hemingway

I’ve always liked Hemingway’s A Moveable Feast.  Set in 1920’s Paris the cast of real life characters, Gertrude Stein, James Joyce, Scott and Zelda Fitzgerald are living fab lives with the Hemingways’.  Their enchanted lifestyle was easily realized on $5.00 a day; enjoying fishing trips to Spain, long weekends skiing in the Alps, and wonderful evenings of incredible storytelling while relishing exquisite food and alcohol.  Hemingway’s lyrical words paint a beautiful and romantic way of life.   

Grab a bottle of champagne, good cheese plus fresh bread and head to your favorite reading spot, enjoy!

Gideon by Alex Gordon

In the tiny town of Gideon, Illinois, a witch was burned at the stake almost two hundred years ago. Now, following her father’s death, a young woman discovers that she descends from a long line of Gideon witches—and that the dark presence the town tried to destroy in 1836 is back and more dangerous than ever. Hounded by a demonic figure and threatened at every turn by Gideon’s suspicious, grudge-loving townsfolk, Lauren Reardon must unravel the mystery of her father’s past in order to save Gideon’s future—and maybe the world’s.

Tightly plotted and thoroughly imagined, Gideon is packed with unusual characters as well as some genuinely unnerving moments. Recommended for fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill, Dan Simmons, and Gillian Flynn.

Pages