Adult Recommendations

Gideon by Alex Gordon

In the tiny town of Gideon, Illinois, a witch was burned at the stake almost two hundred years ago. Now, following her father’s death, a young woman discovers that she descends from a long line of Gideon witches—and that the dark presence the town tried to destroy in 1836 is back and more dangerous than ever. Hounded by a demonic figure and threatened at every turn by Gideon’s suspicious, grudge-loving townsfolk, Lauren Reardon must unravel the mystery of her father’s past in order to save Gideon’s future—and maybe the world’s.

Tightly plotted and thoroughly imagined, Gideon is packed with unusual characters as well as some genuinely unnerving moments. Recommended for fans of Stephen King, Joe Hill, Dan Simmons, and Gillian Flynn.

1776 by David McCullough

Take a moment to sit back in your lawn chair this month and reflect about our nation’s anniversary.  Exactly 239 years ago Americans were having quite a different summer than many of us get to enjoy in 2015.  Noted historian and story-teller David McCullough takes the reader through the entire tumultuous second year of the American Revolution, arguably the most notable of the eight-year war.  Central to the book’s theme are the events of early July. On July 2, 1776, John Hancock, presiding over the delegates in Philadelphia, declared it is “…necessary to dissolve the connection between Great Britain and the American colonies…”  While the colonists rushed to celebrate the British responded quite differently.  1776 will lead you through the trials and tribulations of our newly forming nation.  1776 is a magnificent summertime read!

The Ocean at the End of the Lane

I loved The Ocean at the End of the Lane so much that I read it in one sitting. Returning to his childhood home for a funeral, the unnamed main character begins to recall memories he'd repressed for years. All it takes is a walk down the lane to flood the character with memories of his mysterious childhood friend, Lettie Hempstock, and the frightening but magical adventures they had. The story is thoughtful and intriguing, and encourages the reader to engage in childhood magic and fantasy. 

Pages