Adult Recommendations

The Bullet, by Mary Louise Kelly

When a routine MRI reveals a bullet lodged in Georgetown professor Caroline Cashion’s neck, she’s shocked. The discovery soon leads to other revelations: that she was adopted, and that her birth parents were murdered in front of her—by a killer who was never caught. As the bullet in her neck drifts closer to her spine, Caroline searches for answers in Atlanta, drawing the attention of her parents’ murderer. Soon, she’ll have to make a choice: run for her life, or risk everything to confront the killer.

A suspenseful, expertly-crafted novel of family, secrets, and revenge, perfect for fans of James Patterson, Lee Child, and Harlan Coben.

The Conversation: A Revolutionary Plan for End-of-Life Care by Angelo Volandes, M.D.

The subject of our mortality is painful for many Americans to consider let alone discuss with others. As a result, many of us put off having a conversation with our loved ones and doctors about our end-of-life care wishes. Often, this results in second-guessing, anguish, and guilt. To highlight the need for each of us to plan for end-of-life care, the author explores the end-of-life experiences of seven seriously-ill hospital patients, ranging from palliative care to intense intervention. Dr. Volandes provides information about the latest free online video resources to aid readers in having “The Conversation” about preferences ahead of time with loved ones and doctors.

Written with insight and compassion, this book is a quick, must-read for anybody who does not have end-of-life care plans in place.  

Washington: A Life By Ron Chernow

The aspect of our politics has wonderfully changed since you left us”, wrote Thomas Jefferson about George Washington after America’s first president chose to retire at the end of his second term.  Jefferson did not stop with comments like that. During Washington’s second term in office, Jefferson had insinuated that America’s first and only unanimously-elected president was lucky and over-rated. The political intrigue between these two very different founding fathers is just one of many interesting facets of this compelling biography of George Washington.  The reader will learn about Washington’s ability to command undisciplined troops against a powerful British military, his influence in molding a new government, and all this against a backdrop of an on-going turbulent relationship with his mother. The nurturing of this new government was no easy task. During Washington’s second term, two political paradigms started taking shape. Washington pushed for a strong federal government while Jefferson led supporters for more states’ rights.  Sounds like 2015!