Adult Recommendations

The Writer's Garden: How Gardens Inspired Our Best-Loved Authors by Jackie Bennett

Gardens hold a special place in many authors’ lives.

This book examines eighteen gardens owned by poets, writers, and novelists.  Beautiful photos document the authors’ creative spirits that not only thrive in the written word but also in their gardens. From Roald Dahl to Virginia Woolf we follow many authors through difficult times, financial hardships, personal heartbreaks, in addition to joy and professional acclaim from their writing while tending gardens they loved.

The Bullet, by Mary Louise Kelly

When a routine MRI reveals a bullet lodged in Georgetown professor Caroline Cashion’s neck, she’s shocked. The discovery soon leads to other revelations: that she was adopted, and that her birth parents were murdered in front of her—by a killer who was never caught. As the bullet in her neck drifts closer to her spine, Caroline searches for answers in Atlanta, drawing the attention of her parents’ murderer. Soon, she’ll have to make a choice: run for her life, or risk everything to confront the killer.

A suspenseful, expertly-crafted novel of family, secrets, and revenge, perfect for fans of James Patterson, Lee Child, and Harlan Coben.

The Conversation: A Revolutionary Plan for End-of-Life Care by Angelo Volandes, M.D.

The subject of our mortality is painful for many Americans to consider let alone discuss with others. As a result, many of us put off having a conversation with our loved ones and doctors about our end-of-life care wishes. Often, this results in second-guessing, anguish, and guilt. To highlight the need for each of us to plan for end-of-life care, the author explores the end-of-life experiences of seven seriously-ill hospital patients, ranging from palliative care to intense intervention. Dr. Volandes provides information about the latest free online video resources to aid readers in having “The Conversation” about preferences ahead of time with loved ones and doctors.

Written with insight and compassion, this book is a quick, must-read for anybody who does not have end-of-life care plans in place.